Helen’s new site, sed, computer straitjacket

2012-07-20 at 14:19 Leave a comment

I recently set up a website for a friend. It was more painful than I expected, because I’d forgotten most of what I’d once known about HTML and CSS. And a lot had changed when I wasn’t looking. But, my many mistakes gave me the opportunity to learn how to use the awesome goodness of sed. (I think this is the first time I’ve put up a new website since I switched to Linux five or six years ago.) So even though it was painful, it was fun painful.

In the course of all this, I stumbled over yet another threat to civilization that I hadn’t noticed. The Evil Empire a.k.a. Micro$loth is using its monopoly power to stifle my favorite operating system. Specifically, smartphone and tablet computer manufacturers are being forced to include a software key from Microsoft that will prevent the devices from booting up anything other than Windows.

There is no parallel universe in which this conceivably could be acceptable to me. If I buy the hardware, I should be able to run whatever software I like on it (as long as the software is obtained legitimately, of course). So I hope you’ll join me in signing the Free Software Foundation’s letter opposing ‘Restricted Boot’.

On a more cheerful note, I was tickled to discover that sed was written by Lee McMahon, who devised the Swiss-McMahon pairing system widely used in the game of Go. Here’s his manual for using sed. –MMlvx

Entry filed under: Computers, Game of Go, HTML, CSS, and XML, Linux Shell, Open Source, Tournament Directing. Tags: , , , , .

Software for Tournament Direction Control-Z and the Draughtsman

Leave a Reply

Trackback this post  |  Subscribe to the comments via RSS Feed


July 2012
M T W T F S S
« Oct   Sep »
 1
2345678
9101112131415
16171819202122
23242526272829
3031  

Categories


